FFC names Abdalla Hamdok as PM


Force of Freedom and Change (FFC) has nominated  Abdalla Hamdok to be prime minister (PM) in the transitional government.

The Sudanese Professionals Association (SPA) said on Thursday that the FFC committees had agreed on the appointment of Abdallah Hamdok as Prime Minister for the three-year and three-month transitional period.

Hamdok, long rumored as the FFC nominee, was last working as Deputy Executive Secretary of the U.N. Economic Commission for Africa, and has held positions at the International Labor Organization and the African Development Bank.

He served as an official in Sudan’s Ministry of Finance in the 1980s.

Almost, all the nominees are independent figures picked a for their expertise and skills but also for their support for democratic rule in Sudan.

Sudanese economist Amin Hassan Sayed Ahmed said Hamdok had good connections in the African Union and United Nations and might help get Sudan removed from the U.S. list of state sponsors of terrorism, which has impeded Khartoum’s access to IMF and World Bank funding, reuters reported.

“I think he knows how to get in through the system, much more than anyone else who tried before,” said Sayed Ahmed.

The appointment of the members of the Sovereignty Council is set for Aug. 18, and the appointed members will take the constitutional oath on Aug. 19, which indicates automatic dissolution of the TMC.

The prime minister will be appointed on Aug. 20 and take the constitutional oath the next day.

Then the members of the Council of Ministers will be announced on Aug. 28, and approved by the Sovereignty Council on Aug. 30 before taking the constitutional oath on Aug. 31. The new government will hold its first meeting immediately after the oath taking.

The first joint meeting for the Sovereignty Council and the Council of Ministers is set to be held on September 1.

The Sovereignty Council will include 11 members, including five civilians, five military representatives and one civilian to be selected through mutual consultation.

The Council of Ministers is to be composed of 20 ministers appointed by the Freedom and Change Alliance, except for the ministers of defence and interior who are to be selected by the military members in the Sovereignty Council.